Zodiac, in astronomy and astrology, is a belt across the heavens extending 9° on either side of the ecliptic, the plane of Earth’s orbit and of the Sun’s obvious annual course. The orbits of the Moon and of the main planets additionally lie totally in the zodiac. The 12 astrological signs of the zodiac are considered to occupy 1/12 (or 30°) of its incredible circle. These signs now do not correspond to the astronomical constellations wherein the Sun surely seems. The constellations are abnormal in size and shape, and the Sun often passes through one constellation Ophiuchus which isn’t considered a member of the zodiac.

Because most of the constellations thru which the ecliptic passes represent animals, the ancient Greeks called its area zōdiakos kyklos, circle of animals, or ta zōdia, the little animals. The length and range of zodiacal constellations varied in antiquity and became fixed handiest with the improvement of mathematical astronomy. The list offers the constellations of the zodiac, with the dates of the Sun’s passage thru them in the era when their boundaries have been constant. These dates are nevertheless used for the astrological signs and symptoms, although the precession of the equinoxes has shifted the constellations eastward; e.G., on January 1 the path of the solar is now in Sagittarius in preference to Capricornus. The records of the symbols are unknown; they appear to appear first in Greek manuscripts of the past due Middle Ages.

Zodiac Sign Dates

The first sign of the Zodiac is Aries. Aries begins on March 21st and ends on April 19th. Next is Taurus, which begins on April 20th and goes until May 20th. Gemini follows and lasts from May 21st until June 21st. Cancer comes next and lasts from June 22nd to July 22nd. Next is Leo, which begins on July 23rd and ends on August 22nd. Virgo begins on August 23rd and goes until September 22nd. Libra follows and lasts until October 22nd. Scorpio is next and lasts from October 23rd until November 21st. Sagittarius comes next and lasts from November 22nd until December 21st. Last is Capricorn, which begins on December 22nd and ends on January 20th.

The Elements, Quadruplicities, and Houses

The Zodiac is a semi-circle of 12 signs that the Sun travels through each year. Each sign is divided into three “quadruplicities,” or a set of four signs, each with a different quality. Each sign is also represented by a house, which has characteristics that correspond to the sign and quadruplicity. Here’s what they all mean:

♈ Aries (Ram): March 21–April 19

♉ Taurus (Bull): April 20–May 20

♊ Gemini (Twins): May 21–June 21

♋ Cancer (Crab): June 22–July 22

♌ Leo (Lion): July 23–August 22

♍ Virgo (Virgin): August 23–September 22

♎ Libra (Balance): September 23–October 23

♏ Scorpius (Scorpion): October 24–November 21

♐ Sagittarius (Archer): November 22–December 21

♑ Capricornus (Goat): December 22–January 19

♒ Aquarius (Water Bearer): January 20–February 18

♓ Pisces (Fish): February 19–March 20

Leave a Comment

Featured Posts